maddogdrivethru.net

Open all night
It is currently Sat Aug 18, 2018 4:11 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


No trolling, no stalking, no bullshit.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: GalCivII:How many planets are too many?
PostPosted: Thu Jan 29, 2009 1:28 pm 
Offline
PFC

Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 12:51 pm
Posts: 188
Reputation points: 0
I recently started a game of Galatic CivilizationsII and using all randomized settings i found myself in a uniiverse with three other major civs.

The problem is that i now have 47 planets and i am about to colonize another dozen.Talk about a management nightmare :shock:

When should expansion stop and consolodation begin?

_________________
Of course Mr.Hankey Bear disagreed with me and began to tear my argument apart point by point.. So i ripped all of his stuffing out and threw him to the cat as punishment.


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: GalCivII:How many planets are too many?
PostPosted: Thu Jan 29, 2009 3:25 pm 
Offline
Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 10:09 am
Posts: 1504
Location: On the beach
Reputation points: 7652
That is a problem in GalCivII when you make a really gigantic universe.

Tis really difficult to find/remember what is going on. OTH if you have got to the point where this is happening, most likely you are kicking ass.

Still... if it was easier to keep track of the stuff it would make a brilliant game shine even more.

Ray (alias Lava)

_________________
"In this present crisis, Government is not the solution to our problem; Government is the problem." - Ronald Reagan

"Because in America, we don't worship Government; we worship God." - Donald Trump


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: GalCivII:How many planets are too many?
PostPosted: Thu Jan 29, 2009 3:57 pm 
Offline
Staff Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2008 9:48 am
Posts: 3256
Location: up to my neck in it...
Reputation points: 6825
Yor are you playing the Yor, Yor?
If so, the only consolidation should be processing the organic life forms into your (Yor) collective... ;)

other then that, when it gets tedious have the computer delegate some of the ones that have reached max potential...

Romance of the Three Kingdoms is a beast in that realm also...

_________________
In the beginning the universe was created.
This has made a lot of people angry and been widely regarded as a bad move.
--Douglas Adams


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: GalCivII:How many planets are too many?
PostPosted: Thu Jan 29, 2009 4:53 pm 
Offline
PFC

Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 12:51 pm
Posts: 188
Reputation points: 0
No Terrans.

Normally i play with all the settings on rare in a gigantic universe,but i decided to randomize for a change of pace.

I hate how the AI cheats to outstrip you in the game.My last game i was head and shoulders above all the other races in the game.Then within a month all of the AI races jumped 200% in all catagories and left me a basement dweller.So now i try to gobble up as many planets as i can.

As an example even with almost 50 planets in this game,the Iconian Refuge who has 8 planets,is at 25% my power in almost every catagory and almost my equal in military might.

_________________
Of course Mr.Hankey Bear disagreed with me and began to tear my argument apart point by point.. So i ripped all of his stuffing out and threw him to the cat as punishment.


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: GalCivII:How many planets are too many?
PostPosted: Thu Jan 29, 2009 7:57 pm 
Offline
Staff Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2008 9:48 am
Posts: 3256
Location: up to my neck in it...
Reputation points: 6825
gal civ parameters are great perhaps you are playing random and that is problem, the Terrans with there racial ability could easily strive for tech victory or diplomatic...I never played random, will have to try that...I thought gal civ never cheats per say under the hood, the algorithms used are pretty well suited as a game goes to simulate reaction...I know they spent (progs/designers) thousands of hours tweaking...it could just be the random setting...dunno...did you check the boards over there...

_________________
In the beginning the universe was created.
This has made a lot of people angry and been widely regarded as a bad move.
--Douglas Adams


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: GalCivII:How many planets are too many?
PostPosted: Thu Jan 29, 2009 8:03 pm 
Offline
Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 10:09 am
Posts: 1504
Location: On the beach
Reputation points: 7652
Oh come on now...

You got 50 planets and some dude is poking you in the chest with 8?

Go conquer his ass!

_________________
"In this present crisis, Government is not the solution to our problem; Government is the problem." - Ronald Reagan

"Because in America, we don't worship Government; we worship God." - Donald Trump


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: GalCivII:How many planets are too many?
PostPosted: Fri Jan 30, 2009 6:22 am 
Offline
Hair in the soap
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 12:46 am
Posts: 19166
Reputation points: 18052
I reloaded my GalCiv2 awhile back only to find that Stardock now requires you to download & install their background program to get updates for it.

They can suck my dick as of that point. :evil:

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GalCivII:How many planets are too many?
PostPosted: Fri Jan 30, 2009 8:35 am 
Offline
Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 10:09 am
Posts: 1504
Location: On the beach
Reputation points: 7652
That would be Impulse.

Lots of chattering going on about that, but I haven't made up my mind as to how intrusive it is.

But... it did only me access to re-download GalCivII... so... I got that going for me!

_________________
"In this present crisis, Government is not the solution to our problem; Government is the problem." - Ronald Reagan

"Because in America, we don't worship Government; we worship God." - Donald Trump


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: GalCivII:How many planets are too many?
PostPosted: Fri Jan 30, 2009 7:10 pm 
Offline
Hair in the soap
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 12:46 am
Posts: 19166
Reputation points: 18052
Lava wrote:
That would be Impulse.

Lots of chattering going on about that, but I haven't made up my mind as to how intrusive it is.

But... it did only me access to re-download GalCivII... so... I got that going for me!


It supposedly runs in the background, even if you're not playing one of their games.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GalCivII:How many planets are too many?
PostPosted: Sat Jan 31, 2009 6:42 am 
Offline
Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 10:09 am
Posts: 1504
Location: On the beach
Reputation points: 7652
NefariousKoel wrote:

It supposedly runs in the background, even if you're not playing one of their games.


Yes, it does. However, it uses very little resources.

Question folks are asking is whether or not it is a form of malware? I have it on my system, so at this point, I don't believe it is.

_________________
"In this present crisis, Government is not the solution to our problem; Government is the problem." - Ronald Reagan

"Because in America, we don't worship Government; we worship God." - Donald Trump


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group