maddogdrivethru.net

Open all night
It is currently Sun Dec 16, 2018 9:37 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


No trolling, no stalking, no bullshit.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 50 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Jagged Alliance BIA and Crusader Kings II
PostPosted: Wed Feb 22, 2012 8:48 pm 
Offline
buck private
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 8:01 am
Posts: 16334
Reputation points: 13228
As most know there are a couple of major mods of JA2, Urban Chaos, and Deidranna lives.

There's also JA2 113 Wildfire plus the original Wildfire on GOG.

Plus many other mods for JA2, Ja2UB, and JA2 113 are at http://www.ja-galaxy-forum.com/

The latest JA2 113 release is here http://ja2v113.pbworks.com/w/page/4218339/FrontPage

_________________
“Political Language… is Designed to Make Lies Sound Truthful… and to Give an Appearance of Solidity to Pure Wind.” — George Orwell


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Jagged Alliance BIA and Crusader Kings II
PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2012 8:09 pm 
Offline
Sergeant

Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2008 12:58 pm
Posts: 1765
Reputation points: 3006
Old Eagle wrote:
Yeah I was disappointed with the demo. Plays a somewhat like Frozen Synapse. I'm going to pass on this till maybe it's patched a bit.


You liked Frozen Synapse though right? Or has the novelty worn off. Was thinking of maybe getting that one at some point.

_________________
Welcome to America: We use 'alternative facts' here.


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Jagged Alliance BIA and Crusader Kings II
PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2012 8:22 pm 
Offline
Honorary Texan
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 2:11 am
Posts: 9344
Location: Hole-in-the-Wall
Reputation points: 8023
Snow Leopard wrote:
Old Eagle wrote:
Yeah I was disappointed with the demo. Plays a somewhat like Frozen Synapse. I'm going to pass on this till maybe it's patched a bit.


You liked Frozen Synapse though right? Or has the novelty worn off. Was thinking of maybe getting that one at some point.

Yeah I love Frozen Synapse. Even making mistakes is fun. It really doesn't play much like FS I don't know what I was thinking. But by all means Get FS for a paltry 20 bucks. You will like it.

JA3 is just a RTS game with no pause control. It's very tedious.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Jagged Alliance BIA and Crusader Kings II
PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2012 8:51 pm 
Offline
Hair in the soap
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 12:46 am
Posts: 19269
Reputation points: 18052
Good god, there's no fucking pause feature?

:?

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Jagged Alliance BIA and Crusader Kings II
PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2012 9:00 pm 
Offline
Sergeant

Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2008 12:58 pm
Posts: 1765
Reputation points: 3006
Yes there is a pause. The space bar pauses any time you want it too.

Totally unplayable if it didn't imho.


Thanks for the response on Frozen Synapse OE.

_________________
Welcome to America: We use 'alternative facts' here.


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Jagged Alliance BIA and Crusader Kings II
PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2012 9:05 pm 
Offline
Honorary Texan
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 2:11 am
Posts: 9344
Location: Hole-in-the-Wall
Reputation points: 8023
Snow Leopard wrote:
Yes there is a pause. The space bar pauses any time you want it too.

Totally unplayable if it didn't imho.


Thanks for the response on Frozen Synapse OE.


Well Fook my demo wont pause. Can you issue orders while paused?

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Jagged Alliance BIA and Crusader Kings II
PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2012 9:20 pm 
Offline
Honorary Texan
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 2:11 am
Posts: 9344
Location: Hole-in-the-Wall
Reputation points: 8023
I rescind my criticism. You can pause and issue orders. Mat be close to a sale.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Jagged Alliance BIA and Crusader Kings II
PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2012 4:06 am 
Offline
Sergeant

Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 6:48 pm
Posts: 2755
Reputation points: 8996
I believe you can also set the conditions for "auto-pause". Which beats turn-based IMO when done well.

Still going to wait until it's on sale (July 4th - Steam?) before buying BiA. Too many good games unfinished in my library.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Jagged Alliance BIA and Crusader Kings II
PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2012 7:31 am 
Offline
Honorary Texan
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 2:11 am
Posts: 9344
Location: Hole-in-the-Wall
Reputation points: 8023
CatLover7 wrote:
I believe you can also set the conditions for "auto-pause". Which beats turn-based IMO when done well.

Still going to wait until it's on sale (July 4th - Steam?) before buying BiA. Too many good games unfinished in my library.

I used to like that feature on the Baldur's Gate games. Set the pause to various circumstances.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Jagged Alliance BIA and Crusader Kings II
PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2012 11:00 am 
Offline
Hair in the soap
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 12:46 am
Posts: 19269
Reputation points: 18052
Old Eagle wrote:
CatLover7 wrote:
I believe you can also set the conditions for "auto-pause". Which beats turn-based IMO when done well.

Still going to wait until it's on sale (July 4th - Steam?) before buying BiA. Too many good games unfinished in my library.

I used to like that feature on the Baldur's Gate games. Set the pause to various circumstances.



You'll still probably need to adjust the event settings (to pause) on a couple things in Crusader Kings 2, like when battles begin or end, but the defaults are pretty comfortable for most things IMO. As with all EU-based games, you want to pause after each battle in case you need to pursue, so you don't lose time, although you'll spend much more of it sieging castles & cities overall (if you decide to war war instead of jaw jaw). One thing I poured praise on them for was bringing back the auto-pause whenever an event pops up that needs a decision. That was sorely missing from the EU3 series, and was always a fucking pain in the ass being Johnny-On-The-Spot with the spacebar pause ready, as they would previously just keeping running with more shit building up & happening behind this window that needed a button pressing.

Anyway.. I'll eventually have to buy the retail version of CK2 (as testers only get the testing version) but by the time testing is done on all the updates, maybe it'll be on sale. :lol: So no retail multi-player for me. :|

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 50 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group